About Us

Branch meetings are held in the morning on the third Saturday of the month from September through May at the Aurora History Museum, 15051 E. Alameda Parkway, Aurora, Colorado 80012.

Officers 2022 – 2024

Past President Bobbie Rubin
 Mary Jeanne Miller 2022-2024

Vice President, Programs


Nancy Todd 2023-2025

Vice President, Membership Ruth O’Brien 2022-2024
Treasurer  Terry Cambell Caron 2023-2025
Secretary Eve Hoygaard 2022-2024
Newsletter Editor Leslie Jenkins 2023-2025
Interest Groups Ingrid Lindemann 2022-2024
Public Policy  Su Ryden 2022-2024
Communications Debra Parcheta & Donna Corriveau 2022-2024
Historian Jeannine Villars 2023-2024
Local Scholarships Margee Cannon Co-Chair                      2023-2024

Monica Perez Jolles Co-Chair

Educational Opportunity Fund Pam Spry 2022-2024


Pat Horton 2023-2024


Our interest groups are very active and also meet monthly, although presently some are still meeting via ZOOM.  The groups include Book discussions, Culture & Cuisine, Hiking, Bridge, Memoirs, Meeting of the Minds, Enneagrams and Great Decisions.

At the national level, we contribute to AAUW’s  Greatest Needs Fund and in the past the Eleanor Roosevelt Fund, the Educational Opportunities Fund and the Legal Advocacy Fund.

Locally, we support college scholarships given annually to Aurora residents to complete her/his junior or senior year at a Colorado college or university.  We also partner with the Community College of Aurora to sponsor Equal Pay Day, an event that focuses on the issues surrounding equal pay, pay equity, and gender based discrimination. 

The National AAUW’s Strategic Plan and the Aurora Branch’s Strategic Plan will help guide us through 2021-23.

Our Succession Plan will ensure that new ideas and perspectives are included in future leadership.

NerdWallet, a financial literacy site, ranked Aurora, Colorado as the best large city for women to work in the nation. The June 9, 2014 report considered Women’s earnings, Income equality, and Population growth.

Thanks to higher-than-average recent population growth, a low cost of living and a relatively high level of income equality between women and men, Aurora ranks as the best large city for working women. Aerospace, defense, bioscience, renewable energy and transportation are the major industries in our city.

Past Presidents

Margaret Toppel 1963–64
Dorothy Gifford 1964–66
Dorothy Pearson 1966–68
Annabelle Dunning 1968–70
Ruth Anne Windmiller 1970–72
Patricia Farnham 1972–74
Lucille French 1974–76
Carole Gilland 1976–78
Joan Iverson 1978–80
Miki Gash 1980–82
Ruth Whitmore 1982–84
Liz Carder 1984–86
Rosemary Chojnacki 1986–88
Suzanne Bodis 1988–90
Ruth Fountain 1990–92
Terri Gehler 1992–94
Alice Lee Main 1994–96
Artimese Cowan 1996–98
Joan Peterson 1998–00
Carol Anderson 2001–04
Pat Lord 2004–06
Jean Balint 2006–08
Ingrid Lindemann 2008–10
Jane McGrath 2010–12
Cheryl Wilderman Vanderkooi 2012-14
Terry Campbell Caron

Pam Jones

Joan Brown

Bobbie Rubin